top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Holding

Beach, Bath & Beyond

Updated: Jan 7, 2021

WE HAVE A HOUSE!!

Sorry to not update everyone and write sooner about the awesome new, but it has been a busy time, (which I shall dive into with this post) but despite how busy it has been, I am very happy and relived to say that we have found a place to live!


We've found a lovely 2 story house (oh yeah, stairs baby, just wait till you hear what's up there) with a nice big deck, and a small yard, it's situated on a Avocado orchard so most of the land is actually the orchard and we're basically just renting the house.

It's a lovely feeling though to have someone to call ours, to have a room, a lounge, a bath (oh how I'd missed baths 😪) and more, I won't write about it too much as instead, I'll let you see for yourself:

Beach Mission/On The Edge

Every summer holidays, from the 27th of December to the 4th of January, we run a kids programme at various different campsites around New Zealand, we go there, set up a big Marquee, decorate it, and run a 6 day programme with, songs, bible stories, games and more, it's a great load of fun, a great load of work, and it's really fulfilling to be able to just serve God in a way that

a) brings joy to do many kids

&

b) teaches those kids about him.

We also run family events, like a quiz night, sand castle competition etc, we essentially just serve the camp entertainment and teaching for 6 days.

I was up at Thornton holiday camp with 5 other people, and over the week we always manage to form a tight knit family, it's always sad to leave them, but it means we look forward to next year.

Plans for the New Year

I've got a few projects in mind that I'm working towards kicking off this year and already moving projects that I want to expand on,

Already in progress:

  • UP'n'GO w/Mufifns: Nothing too New here but I'd like to do more "cupcakes" mini episodes this year, only came up with the concept half way through last year but I've had a few in mind that I'd like to get underway.

  • DiceSpire: Now that I've got my table back, a games room & a tripod, I'm going to look at getting into filming and developing video content for both Instagram and YouTube, I've got a fair dinkum collection of games with plenty of thoughts on them, but I don't want to just do reviews, I want to put a unique take on it, what that is I haven't quite figured out. However, the first set of videos you can expect from me is a series of videos looking through Shem Phillips games (my favourite designer) starting from his first game all the way until... While to be honest I'll probably do a new one each time a game from him is released 😂

  • Just 1 Talent: is probably something most of you know nothing about, but it is a band formed by Miriam, Ethan & Myself, we haven't practiced or done anything at all since we left our old church (late 2019) but I'd really like us to be able to get back into it, whether we put anything out there this year or not I'd like to get together and jam with them again.

New Projects:

  • Creative Writing: I want to really get into doing some more writing, and I don't just mean like with this blog (although this is where most of my writing will end up probably) but writing short stories, either from past experiences, or just stories I make up. I enjoy writing and I want to see what I can do.

  • Voice Work: related to the previous entry, I want to try and get a bit of voice work going, doing the podcast has really boosted my self esteem and confidence to just put stuff out there, so when I write a short story, I'd like to read it too, or somehow do voice acting for something, I'm not sure where this will go (if anywhere) but I'm gonna at least try it.

  • Game Design: I've worked on games in the past but never finished them, I've always scrapped the idea eventually, but I had a pretty neat idea for a game that literally came to me in a dream 😂 so I'm gonna work really hard to at least get it into a playable state.


Goodbye 2020

In our latest podcast episode [link] we talked about our year in review, we just talked about our thoughts on the year 2020, some things we did, things we wanted to do but couldn't, and all that.

A good friend of mine said:

"as someone living in a place where covid is still moving i want to thank you guys for the spin you gave to the year it was nice and refreshing"

Other than that, I'll see you (or... You'll see my writing) again in 2 weeks probably.

Thanks.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page